April 12, 1776, the date commemorated on the North Carolina flag, signifies the Fourth Provincial Congress’ adoption of the Halifax Resolves, the first official action for independence by any colony.
Step back in time and experience the lifestyle of those early revolutionaries. The Visitor Center offers an audiovisual presentation, exhibits, guided tours and displays depicting the history of the town. Several historic structures are open on the site including the Sally Billy House (1808), the Burgess House (1808), the Halifax County Jail (1838), the Tap Room (1760) & Eagle Tavern (1790) the Owens House (1760), Clerks Office (1832) and more. Site also offers a spacious picnic area.