The Outer Banks National Scenic Byway begins in the north at Whalebone Junction, the joining of US 64-264, US 158, and NC 12, in Nags Head, Dare County. Byway travelers following the Byways NC 12 south are flanked by the Atlantic Ocean on the east and Pamlico Sound on the west. The Byway traverses Bodie and Hatteras islands in Dare County, Ocracoke Island in Hyde County and Down East in Carteret County to end on the west side of North River at the intersection of US 70 and Merrimon Road (SR 1300). The route includes two ferry rides, one free between Hatteras and Ocracoke Islands and the other, longer toll ride between Ocracoke Island and Down Easts Cedar Island. Visit our Web site for more details, including points of interests and events.