Beachside to Boardwalk Family Fun in Carolina Beach
Nestled in the 400 block of Ann Street in Beaufort’s Historic District, the oldest of the town’s cemeteries was established in the early 1700s and was closed by the General Assembly in 1825, fully occupied. The town disagreed, however, and continued burying its loved ones there until the early 1900s. Old Burying Ground inhabitants include a child who died at sea and was buried in a keg of rum, the great NC privateer Capt. Otway Burns and the crew of the Crissie Wright who died when their great schooner went aground at Shackleford Banks during a January storm in 1886.