The Boyette Slave and Schoolhouse was built in the 1830s on the Boyette Family Farm in Northern Johnston County which dates back to colonial North Carolina circa 1797. This 12 x 16 one-room log dwelling was built for the Boyette’s slaves and was made from pine timber from the farm with full-dovetailed notches and dowels. The unique chimney is made entirely of heart-of-pine sticks and daubed with clay base mortar and is the only structures of its kind still standing in NC.
In 1890-1910 the building was used as a neighborhood school. In 1979, the building was restored by the Boyette Family and was placed on the national Register of Historical Places. The Boyette Slave House is a rare example of a type of structure and construction method which originated in medieval building traditions and since the end of slavery has nearly disappeared from the architectural history of NC.