The History Museum started in 1997 and has grown immensely from the five rooms of the 1903 two-story white house to a village of 11 separate museum buildings hidden in the backyard of the "Big House" on a 2-acre lot. With thousands of permanent artifacts, visitors are encouraged to explore pages from the past and reflect as they search through their own lives and their place in history. Each building holds a unique "key to the past" as visitors discover a variety of antiques and artifacts and reflect the heritages of Sampson County and the surrounding area. The museum grounds include a 70+-year-old outhouse, a smokehouse, early 1900s restored gas pumps, and authentic millstones used back when corn was ground locally into meal. Explore the Bunting Cabin built around 1750, one of the oldest structures in eastern North Carolina.