Old Baldy Lighthouse & Smith Island Museum of History
For more than 200 years, North Carolina’s oldest standing lighthouse (built in 1817) has marked the mouth of the historic Cape Fear River. Smith Museum is housed in replica of 1850s lighthouse keeper’s cottage. Today, thousands of visitors make the exciting journey each year to beautiful Bald Head Island to learn about the island’s rich maritime past at the Smith Island Museum of History and experience Old Baldy up close – including the climb to the top for a breathtaking view of the surrounding area’s outstanding natural beauty.
Island is accessible only by ferry or private boat; no cars are allowed on the island.
Island lighthouse tour package available Tuesdays, Fridays and Saturdays; evening climbs in summer. Hours subject to change, please visit our website for details and reservations.