Murray’s Mill

Visit Website

Murray’s Mill


Hours & Seasons

  • Seasons - March - November (closed January & February)
  • Hours - Sat 9 am - 5 pm, Sun 1 - 5 pm. Summer Hours Thurs - Sat 9 a - 5 pm, Sun 1 - 5 pm


  • 1489 Murray's Mill Rd.

    Catawba,   NC   28609


Nestled just as it was more than a century ago along the banks of Balls Creek, sits the turn-of-the century gristmill with its 28-foot waterwheel.

Preserved intact are the 1913 mill itself, the 1890s Murray & Minges General Store, the 1880s Wheathouse, used as an exhibit gallery, the 1913 John Murray House, furnished to the period, and numerous outbuildings. Run by three generations of the Murray Family before discontinuing, the picturesque structures and surrounding land form the last milling complex in the county, meticulously preserved and interpreted by the Catawba County Historical Association. Inside Murray’s Mill, visitors will find original one-ton French buhr millstones for grinding corn, as well as roller mills that were installed for grinding wheat into flour. All of the mill’s storage bins, each partitioned by tongue and groove sheathing, have been preserved, too.

How to Find Us

Explore nearby listings.


1489 Murray's Mill Rd.
Catawba NC 28609


Latitude: 35° 40' 34.6794" / Longitude: -81° 5' 37.68"

Special Directions:

call for directions

Get directions to this location...

Request your Travel Guide

Download or order FREE guides and maps

Discover Project Project 543

Explore unique spots across North Carolina